Skip to content

WAS Notes: WCAG Guidelines

I'm studying for the WAS certification. These are some of the notes I've taken recently.


Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG)

WCAG 2.1 is the most authoritative source of web accessibility guidelines. All guidelines are technology-agnostic, meaning they apply to all present and future web technologies.

Level A, AA, and AAA

Level A is the lowest level of conformance, and Level AAA is the highest. Most organizations target AA as the minimum because it is meaningful and achievable. Level AAA shouldn’t be ignored, though, because people with disabilities depend on those success criteria.


The main accessibility principles identified in WCAG are Perceivable, Operable, Understandable, and Robust. From these principles come 13 guidelines.





Success Criteria

Each guideline has at least one success criterion, and most have several. If you meet all the criteria up to a certain level, such as Level AA, then you have met the guideline at that conformance level.

Most success criteria are self-explanatory, but some require more detail or documentation for techniques for achieving the success criteria. “Sufficient techniques” are enough to pass the success criterion, whereas “advisory techniques” are more like recommendations for best practices that aren’t necessarily required.